Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

 o
Clematis Sources Update

Posted by garystpaul z4 MN (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 6, 10 at 8:52

Hi, folks. I'm starting to scout out sources for this year's wishlist and wondered if any of you know of good new places to look. These are my regulars:

Brushwood
Silver Star Vinery
Garden Crossings
Seneca Hill
Joy Creek
Forest Farm
Donahues

Appreciate any feedback here. Gary


Follow-Up Postings:

 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

Gary, check the following link below out. We had a thread on various sources last year I believe. Some of the vendors might not still be in business but the list is quite extensive.

Here is a link that might be useful: Clematis Sources


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

Hey Dude. I hope your life is settling down a bit so you can enjoy the finer thing;)

Thanks for bringing up the link. If I have time, (which I doubt because my aging parents have most of it) I'll check each link. If someone would like to do that before I can, it would be great for all of us. :)


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

Thanks, ncville and Janet, very useful. I'd have replied sooner, but the "notify of responses" didn't/doesn't seem to be working. Those lists, from Oct-Nov 2008 are a great resource. Something like that might be worth reprinting now that we're coming into the season. (I didn't feel at liberty to post someone else's list). Gary


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

I've purchased from Brushwood, Silver Star Vinery and Chalk Hill (who unfortunately doesn't sell clematis anymore). I have been pleased with all. Great clematis. Very nice and helpful. Just yesterday, I put in another order to Silver Star Vinery.


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

Oh boy, here we go flying off the Clematis cliff again this year into the wild 'blue' yonder. I have to put in my vote for Brushwood, Dan has got to be the best customer service guy around. Really knows his plants!!. Love Silver Star and Joy Creek cant be beat for selection. I live on the West Coast so I keep to this side of the continent due to shipping concerns. Best of Luck. Kat


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

I found it interesting that Brushwood won't sell Sweet Autumn Clematis anymore. I guess it's way too invasive there.
I have one, just planted last season, so we'll see how it goes, but I have a rather large and long hedgeline for it to climb to it's hearts content.


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

It sure is invasive here in NC. With Dan's move to Georgia in progress, I am sure it will be much more invasive in Georgia than it was in Pennsylvania.


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

Miguel, I may have asked you this before but I have a c. terniflora on a fence (planted last year, spring) along with a c. texensis gravetye beauty. Is the terniflora going to beat up on the texensis and win the battle? If so I am going to move the texensis. Thanks for the input. When is Dan going to be selling from Georgia? Kat


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

Depends on how close the terniflora is to the Gravetye Beauty. Terniflora is a monster clematis and will consume most other clematis.

I think that either I received a general email from Dan or saw it on his website. I believe that things will be shipped from PA this spring but that in the fall, all shipments will come from GA. Don't hold me in cement on that but it was something along those lines.


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

They are close, too close to risk losing the Beauty. I'll move her, next opportunity. Thanks.


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

Brushwood is moving this summer. Lots of updates on Facebook.


 o
RE: Clematis Sources Update

  • Posted by senko 6b ePA (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 10, 10 at 11:34

Here is the list from nckvilledudes' link. Please update any new info about the nurseries on the list. Also, please give your opinion if you had any experience with any one of them.

Arrowhead Alpine - http://arrowheadalpines.com
Beardsley Gardens (redesigning website)
Big Dipper Farm - http://www.bigdipperfarm.com/cgi-bin/searchall.pl
Bluestone Perennials - http://www.bluestoneperennials.com/b/bp/index.html
Brushwood Nursery - http://www.brushwoodnursery.com/
Busse Gardens - http://www.bussegardens.com/
Carroll Gardens - http://www.carrollgardens.com/
Completely Clematis - http://www.clematisnursery.com/
Digging Dog Nursery - http://www.diggingdog.com/
Donahues Clematis Specialists - http://www.donahuesclematis.com/
Fairweather Gardens - http://www.fairweathergardens.com/
Fieldstone Gardens - http://www.fieldstonegardens.com/
Forestfarm - http://www.forestfarm.com/
Garden Crossings - http://www.gardencrossings.com/
Greer Gardens - http://www.greergardens.com/plants.htm
Gurneys Seed & Nursery Co. - (link too long)
Homestead Farms - http://www.homesteadfarms.com/
Jackson & Perkins - (link too long)
Joy Creek - http://www.joycreek.com/
Klehm's Song Sparrow - http://www.songsparrow.com/
Koi Gardens - http://koigardenclub.com/Clematis.htm
Lazy S'S Farm Nursery - http://www.lazyssfarm.com/Plants/Vines/vines.htm
Nature Hills Nursery, Inc. - http://www.naturehills.com/
Paradise Garden - http://www.paradisegarden.com/shop/home_clematis.php
Park Seed (link too long)
Plant Delights Nursery - http://www.plantdelights.com/
Rare Find Nursery - http://www.rarefindnursery.com/
Seneca Hill Perennials - http://www.senecahillperennials.com/
Sheffield's Seed Company. - http://www.sheffields.com/products/view/300440
Silver Star Vinery Clematis - http://www.silverstarvinery.com/
Siskiyou Rare Plant Nursery - http://www.siskiyourareplantnursery.com/
Spring Hill Nurseries Co. - link too long
Spring Valley Greenhouse - http://www.springvalleygreenhouse.com/
Sunlight Gardens - http://www.sunlightgardens.com/giftcertificates.html
Thompson & Morgan - http://www.thompson-morgan.com/
Van Bourgondien Bros. - http://www.dutchbulbs.com/
Wayside Gardens (link too long)
White Flower Farm (link too long)
Woodlanders - http://www.woodlanders.net/


 o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

    If you are a member, please log in.

    If you aren't yet a member, join now!


Return to the Clematis Forum

Information about Posting

  • You must be logged in to post a message. Once you are logged in, a posting window will appear at the bottom of the messages. If you are not a member, please register for an account.
  • Please review our Rules of Play before posting.
  • Posting is a two-step process. Once you have composed your message, you will be taken to the preview page. You will then have a chance to review your post, make changes and upload photos.
  • After posting your message, you may need to refresh the forum page in order to see it.
  • Before posting copyrighted material, please read about Copyright and Fair Use.
  • We have a strict no-advertising policy!
  • If you would like to practice posting or uploading photos, please visit our Test forum.
  • If you need assistance, please Contact Us and we will be happy to help.


Learn more about in-text links on this page here