Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
waterlilyac

Suggestions for a z8 coastal garden?

ard1
15 years ago

Would rooguchi do well in a z8 garden? I am in coastal NC, and am looking for a clematis to plant as a companion to a Cornelia climbing rose on the end wall of a little garden cottage. It faces west and gets the HOT afternoon sun for many hours. There is a 6' gardenia out a bit from the wall which would shade the base of the clematis. Also, am looking for a clematis to plant on a pergola/arbor structure that is 10' long by 3' deep and 8' high. It will have a souvenir de la malmaison climbing rose on one end and a reve d'or on the other. In the center is a confederate jasmine.The three sides are a very open lattice, which provide plenty of climbing support. I have no experience with clematis, but am fascinated by their beauty, and would like to get to know them. I am gone quite a bit in spring and early summer, so they would have to be fairly independent and able to manage on their own until I return home in July. Is it too tall an order? Thanks for all suggestions.

Comments (10)

• nckvilledudes
    15 years ago

The biggest obstacle I see in your case is the fact you won't be around the clematis in spring when they start growing and when the weather can get hot here. Without you to keep them watered, especially when they are getting established, could be a big issue as to whether they will survive. You know your gardening conditions better than I do so you should know how water loving plants do establishing themselves in your garden without watering that early in the season, except of course with what Mother Nature normally provides.