Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessie74_gw

New to Clematis, need advice

Jessie74
10 years ago

Hello there!
I am totally new to clematis and hope I can get some answers here. The only clematis I currently have is the clematis Rooguchi. I have had it for ten years. There were actually two different clematis varieties that I purchased from Spring Hills Nursery as a collection, I planted them in the same spot, and one died a few years after. I never pruned Rooguchi (and I did not know that the clematis should be pruned). I am a bit disappointed since I recently found out that Rooguchi should bloom "starting in early May and continuing through September". While mine has a long blooming period, it is not even close to 4 months, it blooms for maybe 1.5-2 month. I also read that Rooguchi does not need to be pruned. If anyone is familiar with Rooguchi, is it really true that it can bloom for 3-4 months, and how can I prolong the blooming time of mine?
I also would like to add two/three clematis this season, and since I already placed my order with Garden Breeze Hostas, I would like to add a few clematis to that order as well. If anyone can help me to choose a robust, fast growing clematis from what they offer I would be really appreciated, I really have no money for weak varieties that I will just loose later.

Jessie

Here is a link that might be useful: Clematis Varieties Offered

Comments (3)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Rooguchi is an excellent choice to start with - a strong growing, free-flowering and robust plant. It typically does have a long bloom season but that does depend on where you may be located and the siting of the plant itself but 3-4 months is perfectly reasonable and could be in bloom even longer.