Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bmbrown88

Viticella Venosa Violacea

bmbrown88
15 years ago

I need some help deciding what color flowers to plant around the mailbox with this clematis (Venosa Violacea) climbing up the mailbox.... I'm very new to gardening but I saw these flowers last year called million bells that I would love to grow and also help keep the roots of the clematis shaded... any ideas what color would look best against that deep purple bloom??? should I for a orange, yellow, or lavender??

Comments (18)

• bmbrown88
    Original Author
    15 years ago

{{gwi:576493}}

• harryshoe zone6 eastern Pennsylvania
    15 years ago

I've just added Venosa to my arbor which has the rose Westerland growing on it as well as Betty Corning clematis. Westerland opens orange but quickly fades to salmon. I thin VV would look great with white or yellow also.

{{gwi:226504}}

{{gwi:222609}}

• buyorsell888
    15 years ago

FYI
    Venosa Violacea is way too big for the average mailbox. Mine went to the top of a nine foot trellis and flopped back down in it's second year.

Harry, lovely arbor. Have you got two Betty's or does she go up one side and down the other?

• bmbrown88
    Original Author
    15 years ago

really.... I see a lot of people around here growing them on there mailboxes.. are there some that don't grow that big and if so what kind would do best??

• harryshoe zone6 eastern Pennsylvania
    15 years ago

BorS,

There are two Betty's. The reached 7' last summer in their third year.

• nckvilledudes
    15 years ago

Smashing photo Harry. I vote for orange with purple as well.

• buyorsell888
    15 years ago

VV on 9' trellis first year (center)

{{gwi:576494}}

Second year

{{gwi:576495}}

• Bogart
    15 years ago

I think any Viticella will grow that tall - amazing, isn't it - after being cut back to within a few inches of the ground they can spring up 7 or 8 or 9 feet in a season!

I have yellow Corydalis at the base of mine and it's smashing.