Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
esther_b

Yikes! Nellie Moser dead vine from last year has leaves!

esther_b
12 years ago

I guess I got preoccupied last fall with other things, but I never pruned my 3 y.o. Nellie Moser vine after it dried up and lost its leaves with the first frost. I happened to walk by it yesterday and was freaked out to see that this brown woody vine had groups of leaf buds at every node.

Should I leave it alone, prune it, or what? I'm still a clematis newbie. This Nellie only had ONE blossom for the whole growing season last year, despite a prime planting place, sufficient water, and fertilizer.

Comments (15)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    12 years ago

OK newbie, here ya go!! :-) Clematis perform best when pruned in late winter/early spring, about the same time you would prune roses or when forsythia blooms in your area. So like now. Clematis vines tend to bud out early so not at all surprised to hear buds already present along leaf axils, particularly given as mild a winter as many of us have experienced.

You want to cut it back now. Nelly is considered a group 2 so light pruning is generally recommended, however a harder pruning - down to the third set of buds - won't hurt it any more than a possible delay of initial flowering and can be helpful to clean up the tangled mess these vines sometmes produce. Once pruning is complete, fertilizing is next on schedule :-)

• buyorsell888
    12 years ago

What gardengal48 said. Prune it. Now. :)

• esther_b
    Original Author
    12 years ago

OK, thanks. The vine is about 4-5 feet high. How low should I prune it?

• buyorsell888
    12 years ago

Prune it down to the lowest two sets of buds on each stem.

Work from the ground up.

• esther_b
    Original Author
    12 years ago