Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Alfalfa tea question

Posted by GreenHavenGarden 6 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 11, 12 at 10:03

Hi all! I bought a 50lb bag of alfalfa pellets. I am planning on making the tea. I have read numerous threads and am still confused about wether or not I should add Epsom salts and/or fish emulsion. Can someone explain the reason for the extra ingredients. I don't mind adding them I just want to know why.
Also, I gather that the time to use the tea is when you would normally fertilize. My problem is that this is my 1st spring with a garden and I don't know when to fertilize in my zone 6 garden. It's been unusually warm here, everything is growing, buds are on most of my clematis and the weather has it in the 60-70s next week. Should I use some soon or wait.
Finally, if I make large batches, how long can I store any leftovers for using to spray on the leaves?
Thanks in advance for any help. I'm a complete newbie and kind of lost even after searching through threads!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Alfalfa tea question

Understand that alfalfa tea, Epsom salts and fish emulsion all supply plant nutrients (i.e., they are fertilizers). Whether you need them singly or in combination depends a great deal on your existing soil conditions and how well your plants are growing. As an example, a garden with good soil conditions and one that receives liberal and frequent doses of a good organic mulch may never require ANY supplemental fertilization.