Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvvt18

Park Seed's Princess Di Clematis

LuvVT18
16 years ago

Has anyone grown this clematis - it has flowers that look like pink tulips. Don't know if this is a new one or not. I just ordered this from Park Seed and wondered if it is hard to grow. I am pretty new to clematis and grow them on my balcony. Park Seed said that this one was a good one to grow in a container.

Comments (27)

• nckvilledudes
    16 years ago

I have Princess Dianna and it is a nice clematis but it has not been as vigorous a grower or flower producer as has my Duchess of Albany. Both are similar in color and shape with the Duchess of Albany being a lighter pink in color than Princess Di. Princess Dianna flowers with fewer flowers over a shorter time period, whereas Duchess of Albany flowers with a big show early on and then blooms sporadically over the summer. It also puts out a ton of vines from the ground whereas Princess Di has been less enthusiatic a grower and vine producer. Princess Dianna also has a habit of getting powdery mildew in my garden and the Duchess has not. These are my experiences with the two clematis and you may or may not have the same experience.

Here are some pictures showing Princess Dianna and Duchess of Albany.

Princess Di
    {{gwi:577092}}

Duchess of Albany

{{gwi:577093}}
    {{gwi:577094}}

{{gwi:577095}}

Princess Di has yet to put a stem up out of the ground this year even though she is in full sun at this time of year (she does have two or three stems ready to emerge from the ground though). The Duchess of Albany is up against my north wall and has already had tons of vines come up.

{{gwi:577097}}

Based on this I would say however that Princess Di is much better suited to container culture than Duchess of Albany is.

• LuvVT18
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for you input. Both of your clematis vines are beautiful.