Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moonwolf_gw

Is Nelly Moser A Goner?

moonwolf_gw
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

Another question on my Nelly Moser (my old post announcing I'm a newbie is MIA). I was checking over my Nelly Moser only to find the vines it had broke off from the wind, leaving only a little over 5 inches of leafless stem left. Is my plant a lost cause? I saw in Wal-Mart that they're selling it bare root. I don't think I'll get another one but at least I have my Reiman.

Brad AKA Moonwolf

Comments (10)

• jeanne_texas
    14 years ago

Nope..clean up the breaks with your pruners..fertilize and you should see more vines emerge from the soil...Jeanne

• moonwolf_gw
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you, Jeanne!

I won't lose hope for it. It is a beautiful clematis! It is only three years old (bought it in a container at a local grocery market that sells plants in spring and fall).

I already pruned off the vines where they broke earlier before I posted. When should I fertilize? I have some Miracle-Gro Bloom Booster, so that may help it.

Brad AKA Moonwolf

• jeanne_texas
    14 years ago

Fertilize the same time you fertilize your roses or when you see them first "leaf-bud" out..I use rose or Tomato fertilizer..make sure the middle number is the Highest the "P" in the N-P-K ratio

• mnwsgal
    14 years ago

Brad, most of my clematis die back to the ground and come back each year. I've also had rabbits cut the stems off and the clematis still come back. They want to grow.

I'm one of those people who doesn't grow roses, so don't have any idea when people fertilize roses. (OK, I have a couple of mini-roses in pots, but they don't count.) I fertilize with a tomato fertilizer once the clematis start actively growing.

• moonwolf_gw
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks everyone for your help!

Where NM is growing, I will be growing two other annual vines with it (moonflower and cup and saucer vine). Will they overcrowd the clematis?