Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
irish_rose_grower

Where can I get really inexpensive trellis' for 3 clematis?

irish_rose_grower
18 years ago

HI. I'm fairly new to clematis. I bought 3 last year and now I need to get trellis for them. I went to Home depot and they had them, but they were 24.00. I'm on a tight budget and don't want to spend 75.00.

Any ideas of what stores in the New York area sell these for less money? also, do you think those wood trellis would work as good as the metal ones?

Thanks

Maureen

Comments (20)

• buyorsell888
    18 years ago

I just bought three at Walmart, cheapo cedar ones for $8.97 each.

• kimmy61
    18 years ago

and i got some 6ft ones from the general dollar store for $6.00 a piece

• irish_rose_grower
    Original Author
    18 years ago

thanks buyorsell & kimmy

• opheliathornvt zone 5
    18 years ago

I am experimenting with using tomato cages of various types for some of mine. These cages are usually pretty cheap and I'm thinking about putting mesh over them to increase the number of places the clemmies have to cling. This will work best with fairly vigorous plants, and of course, doesn't look as nice as a trellis before it's covered, but as you say, trellises can be expensive.

• chills71
    18 years ago

If I know the clematis is a very vigorous grower, I take chicken wire, fold it in half, open it up and use two long pieces of wood to serve as anchoring for it. It vanishes comletely with clematis like Sweet Autumn and Montana varieties.

~Chills

• casper1
    18 years ago

I've seen used sections of T.V. towers used very effectively, they are self supporting and are 10' tall and will take 3 plants,try to get them for different blooming times. Rai

• laurelin
    18 years ago