Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
too cool roots?

Posted by jujustad Z8 western WA (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 21, 11 at 20:39

I purchased two clematis Carmencita to climb up either side of the front entrance of my house and I ran trellis across the underside of the rafter ends so they could crawl across and, hopefully, meet (my house is only 13' wide). I got them mail order from Joy Creek nursery so they arrived cut back to a couple buds. One will need to be planted under the deck and come up through an opening I've made in the decking. Do you think it will work if I keep one in a pot until it gets some height on it and then plant it in the extreme shade under the deck? Should I put that one in a larger pot and plan on waiting until next year to plant it? I am new to this and don't know how fast I could expect these to grow a couple feet so there would be leaves in the light.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: too cool roots?

You don't need to worry about their roots being in shade if you've gone to the trouble of cutting a hole in your deck for that, I'm sorry it wasn't necessary.

They are vigorous type III Clems so they could grow six or more feet this year. I had some reach eight or nine feet their first year from gallon size pots.

They should be planted deeper in the ground than they are in the pot.

You will need to use supports to guide them where you want them to go.

They are Type IIIs that should be cut back to a couple of buds every year. If one is planted under your deck that could be difficult though you don't have to cut them back that far if you don't care about the flowers being at a lower level, they will send up new vines from the crown as they should which you'll have to guide.

o

Thanks buyorsell888 :)
Do you really mean that I can plant a Carmencita that is 3" tall in the dark under my deck and it will still grow!!?
Also, a question that I forgot to ask...is there a problem with planting them within a foot of my house foundation?
Julie