Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
charleney_gw

another newbie here

charleney
9 years ago

Tiny clematis starts ( roots) from Costco. Planted them deep in 12 and 14 in "pots. It has been mostly just raining and raining again for a couple of weeks. Had only one day last week that I watered them as the surface looked dry. They have not shown their pretty heads yet. I have well composted horse manure, and I also have aqua crystals that I could put around the inside rim. BUT!!! should I do either of those. They are now in Miracle Gro potting soil.

Comments (14)

• iris_gal
    9 years ago

Doesn't the potting soil already contain nutrients? Have patience and keep the CostCo receipt. Save the manure for roses and send me the crystals :-)

Had they sprouted in their bags? Also I check the soil below the surface for dampness.

• charleney
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Sounds like good advice to me. The roots were so TINY. I planted them anyway. Dog or squirrels dug in one pot, just after planted. And of course that was the most frail . Wouldn't be Costco fault on that one if it does not survive. But the rest were decent. All were VERY small.
    I do put crystals in coconut hanging baskets, so wondered about the crystals when weather heats up.
    Thank You!

• mnwsgal
    9 years ago

Give them some time. Don't think they need anything else than the good potting mix at this point.

I start clematis from seed and have transplanted ones with small root systems into small square pots and later pot up as roots start to show out the bottom of the pot.

They do need attention but be careful not to over water. If it is too wet from raining move the pots to a covered area so they can dry a bit.

My Costco does not sell bare root clematis. Just curious as to the varieties you bought.

Good luck.

• charleney
    Original Author
    9 years ago