Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Advice on pruning/deadheading Clematis

Posted by sissylougal 8 (My Page) on
Mon, May 21, 07 at 9:15

Hi,
I am fairly new at Clematis (only about 3-4 years) and I have a question for those of you who have "Been there, done that."

I would like to know what to do to keep my clematis blooming as long as possible. With roses, I know to, "Deadhead" each bloom after it has started dieing back to keep the blooming cycle going. Is it the same with clematis? My plants are starting to do better, but I'm wondering if the blooming cycle can be lengthened if I do not let the plants start forming the seed pods right after blooming.

I'd appreciate any feedback and wisdom!
Thanks...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Advice on pruning/deadheading Clematis

Deadheading clematis IMHO only aids in the health of the vine..why let it use it's energy to make seedheads if you don't plan on harvesting them..I see you are in zone 8...our longer growing season allows us to get 2 maybe 3 bloom cycles from our pruning group 3's( I've already pruned back several of my pruning group 3's/viticellas because they have finished blooming)..I hard prune them back to the 3rd leaf axil refertilize and they will grow back up and bloom again..
Your Pruning group 2's will have two bloom cycles..once in spring and again in late summer/fall...I even had clematis Florida "Alba Plena" blooming in January...most of mine can bloom off and on up till October easily...remember to fertilize in late winter/early spring which is about the same time as when the Forsythias are in bloom or for me in zone 8B around Valentine's Day..same time I prune me roses!! and then you fertilize again after the first initial bloom cycles is over and that's it for the year...I also top dress my flowerbeds with a couple inches of composted cowmanure/compost each March..this will give added OM to your beds and will help with needed nutrients...Hope this helps...Jeanne

o