Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Reseeding Clematis?

Posted by opheliathornvt 5 (My Page) on
Wed, May 8, 13 at 9:19

I have 3 volunteer seedlings growing in one of my garden beds! I've been growing clematis for over 20 years and this is the first time this has happened. Sometimes a vine will pop up where I don't expect it, but in the past, I've always remembered that at some point, I planted a clem there that "died". From the locations of these 3, I know that's not the case here. I do have a sweet autumn clematis, but in 20 years, I haven't seen a seedling from it, and the leaves of these three are different from that one anyway. In the bed where these have appeared I grow Rhapsody, Eyre's Gift, and Henryii. I was also growing a Petite Faucon, but it hasn't come back this year, and I'm wondering whether these seedlings could be from that. Anyone have experience with any of these reseeding?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Reseeding Clematis?

I have Petite Faucon and it has never seeded.

Actually none of my Clematis have ever produced a seedling. I have had vines buried by mulch root...but no seedings or suckering away from the vine

I do not grow SAC

o

I just found another two seedlings. I guess I'll have to wait until one of them blooms, but that makes 5 volunteers in one bed! My money was on Petite Faucon, but now I'm wondering whether it could by Eyre's Gift, which seems to be one that not a lot of people grow, except that I'm not sure it bloomed last year, since it is so new. Oh well, it's one of the things I like about gardening -it seems like you're always learning something.

o

Congratulations on your new babies!