Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbieberry

My first clematis EVER! Please help me plant it?

gardenbug
13 years ago

I just purchased my first clematis...it is called 'Jackmanii' and I want to make sure I plant it properly. Can someone please tell me how far away from the fence it should be planted? Do I need to give it anything else besides bonemeal? How often should I water it? The tag doesn't provide a whole lot of information, so I could really use some helpful tips. Thanks to everyone.

Comments (18)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    13 years ago

I'm no expert on clematis, but I have about 30 of them (including lots of Jackmanii), so I will tell you what I do.

Mine are planted about 6-8 inches away from the fence. I dig a big hole--maybe 1.5 ft wide and deep--and mix in humus in the soil. Then I carefully insert the plant with the plant stems buried several inches in the soil, fill up the hole with soil, and water really well. That's about it.

My understanding is that you shouldn't feed it until it has experienced significant growth.

The tricky part of planting the clem is if it comes in a pot. Kinda tricky turning that pot upside down and carefully letting it slide out without the rootball falling all apart. Try not to disturb the rootball if you can--but it usually gets disturbed for me. Careful of the roots--they can break off very easily.

If the plant is bareroot and has lots of long tangled roots, you might need to very carefully untangle them a bit, especially if they are curling in a tight circle. Otherwise, don't worry about it.

If it is a tiny little starter, you might want to plant it in a pot first, then transplant it into the ground several months later. I never buy those tiny ones, so I'm not sure how necessary this step is. Clem gardeners argue back and forth on this.