Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
opheliathornvt

Problems with clematis on other plants

I have about 50 clematis plants, so I'm not a total newbie, nor do I consider myself an expert by any means, but I have had problems growing clems on plants. I brought this up when Miguel was still with us, and he said he'd never had a problem, but I have. I have bare spots in a large juniper and think I killed a dwarf arctic willow by growing clems on them that then shaded them out. This year, I have decided to take Huldine out of a crabapple because I notice the crab has no leaves right where the clem was, and my forsythia bloomed poorly this year, again where Mme. Julia Correvon and Betty Corning grew last year. I am now only going to grow clems on trellises and obelisks. For anyone who can grow clems up other plants, do you have any secrets to impart? Do you cut them off the plants after blooming? Could it have anything to do with my cold zone 5 location? Are the plants I'm choosing unsuitable? Thanks for any feedback.

Comments (8)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

I can't think that your choice of vines are unsuitable or that your cllimate zone makes any difference. And I should think most of the shrubs you have chosen would be particularly well-suited to tolerating a clematis.

I grew all manner of clematis into trees and shrubs in my old garden and never had an issue with either the host plant or the vine. And some of the clems were big, robust vines (C. montana, orientalis, terniflora). They only got pruned at the appropriate time of year (late winter) if they got pruned at all. I can only say that any evergreen hosts were those that had a pretty branchy, open growth habit, like rhodies. No conifers.

• opheliathornvt zone 5
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well, I'm really at a loss to explain it, then. There must be some factor I'm overlooking - it can't be only me. Thanks for the input, though.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    10 years ago