Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
megpie77

Clematis up my pillars? Pics of house

megpie77
13 years ago

Hello. I am new to the gardening section of this site. A designer recomended I grow white clematis up my pillars (along with window boxes, new garage doors, etc). I am just lost as I have NEVER gardened before. Does anyone have any suggestions? Would this be a bad idea? I was thinking alba luxurians would be great since they are fast growing,white (which I prefer anyway) and grow 10-13 feet. Will I need to grow them on some sort of wire, or fencing wrapped around the pillars? There is soil behind the hedge but I am assuming I'd have to start them off in pots so they can get tall enough to see the sun from behind the hedge. The house faces west. The sun hits the front at about 2pm until about 7-ish (in spring and summer). I think I am in zone 8a (seattle area). I just want to pretty up our house so bad but don't know where to start!

Thanks in advance for any help!

{{gwi:590116}}

Comments (16)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    13 years ago

I'm no expert on these matters, but I would think clems running up the classical columns would ruin the classical look. But maybe not everyone likes the classical look like I do. At any rate, I don't think alba luxurians would be a good choice. It has a rather small (and limp) flower--wouldn't it be rather invisible on those white columns?

On thing I would do is paint the front door a dark red. That color looks great against greys and provides a much warmer welcome to visitors. The dark door looks rather forbidding to me--but maybe that is just me.

I'd definitely go for new decorated garage doors with interesting windows--since the garage has such a prominent place in front.