Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taz6122

Clematis? pics

taz6122
12 years ago

Hi all. I'm a newbie to this forum and would like to know if anyone can ID this plant and if it's possible to propagate by cuttings??

{{gwi:590150}}

{{gwi:590151}}

{{gwi:590152}}

I'm amazed they're not all blurry with the gale force winds blowing as a storm approaches. TIA for any info you can give me.

Comments (6)

• buyorsell888
    12 years ago

Clematis 'Ville de Lyon'

Clemmies are very hard to root from cuttings. Some have reported good success with layering.

Personally, I don't want more of the same variety so I don't ever try propagating.

• taz6122
    Original Author
    12 years ago

You say "very hard". Doesn't mean impossible right? Does anyone here know if it is harder to root than Passiflora incarnata? It is one of the most difficult of the species but I've rooted several.
    I'm just trying to fill out the lattice in the picture. I need more than 1 to do that, or do I?

• alina_1
    12 years ago

If you will manage to root a cutting (and it will take you 6 month to 1 year), the plant will reach a blooming size in at least 2 years. So, you will spend 3 years on getting the exact same Clematis.

IMO, it is much better to have different colors/types. If you want to save money, buy small Clematis from a reputable nursery, online or local.

Bluestone Perennials has 50% off sale right now. Their Clematis are small, but they already have good roots.

• mnwsgal
    12 years ago

I have rooted clematis cuttings. Since these are not ones that I "want" or "need" for my own gardens they are simply placed in a container of mix and kept moist in a shady area on my patio. Some root and some don't. When they are two years old these extras are shared with friends and/or taken to swaps. I do these as an experiment and for fun so don't worry if they don't succeed. I also start clematis from seed.

• mnwsgal
    12 years ago