Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
prairiemoon2

Clematis m. Mayleen, just coming up?

I planted Mayleen last fall and kept looking and looking for it with no luck. I had given up on it and noticed today there is the smallest little growth on it. It just makes me wonder why it was so late. Was it struggling for some reason, or does it always come up this late?

Comments (12)

• buyorsell888
    13 years ago

I'm thinking you are at the extreme end of it's hardiness zone. It just may be waking up now.

The Montanas are mostly done here but I saw one a couple days ago still flowering.

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    Original Author
    13 years ago

So, does that mean I have to worry about it coming back each spring? Should I be mulching it heavily over the winter?

Thanks

• buyorsell888
    13 years ago

I'm no expert on cold weather gardening but I would guess, yes to both questions.

Do you see Clematis montanas growing around your area?

• alina_1
    13 years ago

I am not an expert either, but I would guess that the roots can be easily protected by using mulch, but I am not sure how bud hardy it is. It blooms on old wood, so if buds get killed by the frosts, I'd be disappoingted... There is no point growing a non-blooming Clemmie, right?

I planted Montanas 'Brighton Star' and 'Mayleen' two years ago. Last year none of them grew, so I thought they did not make it. This year, I can see a single sprout that resembles Clematis... No blooms of course. Keep my fingers crossed...

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    Original Author
    13 years ago

No, no point in growing a non blooming clematis, alina. I didn't realize it bloomed on old wood, I didn't think about that when it was on sale. [g] Well, I am going to call Bluestone tomorrow, who sold it to me and see what they have to say. It's listed on their website as being hardy to zone 5 !!

• buyorsell888
    13 years ago

Do either of you see them blooming in other gardens/yards as you drive around your areas?