Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roseberri

pairings

roseberri, z6
9 years ago

Hi all,
I have been growing clematis now for about 8 years maybe a little longer, and my problem is that when I wish to grow them together or with roses, they don't always bloom at the right time to make the display I had in mind.
The descriptions I have read of these particular clematis are always vague about bloom time, which I understand may be influenced by climate;but I find it frustrating and want to know how many of you have had this problem?
Especially those of you that have hundreds of clematis?
roseberri
ps the picture is of Guersey cream blooming alone, Dortman rose will be along later!

Comments (5)

• roseberri, z6
    Original Author
    9 years ago

here' Claire de Lune blooming alone in a grouping of her with Ramona and Varenne. now these have only been here a couple years but Claire and Ramona are older plants. Varenne is only two. But Varenne was Much later that the other two and is just now blooming.

• mnwsgal
    9 years ago

Part of pairing is experimenting and keeping in mind that bloom times will vary due to weather etc. If a pairing isn't working I try a different pairing or adjust my expectations, having all blooming at the same time vs having something in bloom at different times. Because it takes so long, three years in the ground for a good display, we are hesitant to make those changes but better that than being disappointed every year. This year I moved several clematis because the combo wasn't working for me. Hopefully the replacements will please me better.

When I choose my combinations I look at what has worked for others. There are many photos shared on the gallery section of this forum and others can be found doing a search here for combinations. These give me an idea of different clematis that bloom at similar times then I make my own choices. Sometimes I then post asking for comments on that combination.