Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kanuk_gw

Blue Angel: Pinch tip or not

kanuk
14 years ago

Hi clematis forum

I'm new to the clematis forum. I planted this Clematis last June and it's come back seemingly well this spring although seemingly late.

The last 5 days has seen a growth spurt of about 3 feet on one sturdy stem. There are no signs of branching that I can see at this point.

Question: Should I pinch off the tip?

I'm going to try to post the photo here with hopes it works.

{{gwi:596014}}

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments (17)

• alina_1
    14 years ago

Yes, pinch it right above the leaf node. I would even cut it back to the lowest pair of leaves. It is still not too late to do so. Two new shoots will grow from the node. Pinch them too. Stop pinching about two months before the first frost. You might not see the blooms this year, but you will help the plant to get established and to get a bushier shape.

Next spring cut the plant back to the first bud union.

• buyorsell888
    14 years ago

I would cut it back and then start pinching.

• kanuk
    Original Author
    14 years ago

alina- Thanks for taking time to address my question. I was hoping to see lots of height in this clematis this year as I'm trying to cover/decorate one side of a pass through arbor. Maybe I'm expecting too much in one season but that's why I was hesitant in pinching or cutting back because I wanted the 'height' and of course ... the flowers too!
    buyorsell888- Thanks also for your advice.

Between the 2 of you it seems that cutting back is what to do. When new shoots develop I can start pinching those.

When you say ... "cut it back" to what degree do you mean? The stem in the photo is the only stem(shoot) right now and it's about 3 feet tall.

It's kinda scary cutting it ... or is it just me.

• alina_1
    14 years ago