Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Clematis Newbie-Couple pics

Posted by shannababy 5b (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 19, 13 at 10:18

Hi there, I'm very new to clematis but I read a lot last year and planted a bunch in the summer,Unfortunately I came back from vacation this year after everything had sprouted and my husband had done the best he could training everything up the trellis. I didn't have the heart to trim anything with buds, so please be kind.
First bloom on Henryi, Lots of huge buds on very long stalks. Planted in Sept last year so I'm pretty happy its taken off.

photo IMG_37071_zpsb83f3de2.jpg

photo IMG_37081_zps2760a097.jpg

Belle of Woking I believe. This was a rescue Clem, so I'm glad I got to see some flowers.

photo IMG_37101_zps2a8ebb9d.jpg
 photo IMG_37121_zps0a263b17.jpg

Angela( i think) didn't quite make it up the trellis, She'll be trimmed when she's done and retrained.
 photo IMG_36841_zps9c729fb4.jpg

Hyde Hall, one of 2 I picked up, masses of flowers on both, Will train after done flowering

photo IMG_36831_zps768e6476.jpg

And lastly, not a clematis but my Dogwood Venus, Had to go out of my way to get one as shes supposedly not hardy here but she made it through our horrendous winter and is a traffic stopping showstopper her very first year. This is week 4 of blooms! Lost 3 branches last night because of such strong winds here but still beautiful.
 photo IMG_37001_zpsca8deca7.jpg

photo IMG_36981_zps2fe05216.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Clematis Newbie-Couple pics

whoops not belle of woking but duchess of edinburgh! Still learning!

o

Your plants all look happy and healthy. In a few years that fence will be stunning, and even now it looks like it's a great improvement over the fence without clematis.

Also, glad to hear that the Venus dogwood has done well. I've been thinking about doing a bit of zone pushing with one of the kousa hybrids.

o