Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragonfly_field

fertilizer question

dragonfly_field
9 years ago

I got a rose fertilizer and only have two roses. I was wondering if I can use rose fertilizer on my clematis. Seems like it would be fine but I'm new at this. They are the kind that are little fertilizer spikes you put in the ground if that matters at all.

Comments (17)

• dragonfly_field
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oh good to know. Why don't they work very well? Do the nutrients just not release into the soil? Thanks for letting me know they aren't great, I'll steer clear from them in the future.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    9 years ago

Plant feeder roots - the ones that absorb nutrients - spread out in a wide circle. Centralizing all the fertilizer in a single point or even just a couple of points throughout this large circle, as the spikes would do, just does not optimize the even dispersal of nutrients to the root system. The plant is only able to access and metabolize a small portion - the rest goes to waste.

That's why grinding up the spikes and distributing the nutrients more evenly throughout the root system makes better sense. And even better sense to purchase a granular fertilizer to begin with :-))

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

the shorter answer...

you cant see where the roots are.. to pound in the spike... so who knows if the plant will ever find it ...

and if you happen to pound it in ... on top of roots.. you might burn those with such intense fert ...

=== now the longer part ..

fert has 3 number ... like 12- 13-14 ... and that is the ONLY important part of such ... you do not need a different formula for different plants ... thats all marketing hype ...

e.g. grass needs nitro to stay green ... thats the first number.. such a fert might be 29-3-3 ... it would NOT be good on any flower plant ...

the second and third number are for roots and the flowers themselves ... grass doesnt need that stuff ...