Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lily2521

New to clematis...help with planting

lily2521
13 years ago

I am new to gardening in general. I want to plant clematis to grow up a trellis I have on the side of my home. The base of the trellis is probably about 18-20". I'm not sure how many to plant?

I thought of doing two, one at each side of the trellis, with different flower colors, but then I read that I should try to plant them 5' apart from each other. Wouldn't I want to plant them right at the base of the trellis?

I do have some pretty good-sized hostas I'm leaving there too to try to help cover the ground and keep it cool for the clematis, but I'm still confused about the best way to plant, because my hostas are also right on either side of the trellis, so I'm confused about spacing for planting. Thanks.

Comments (9)

• julieiwuc
    13 years ago

I would probably plant two of them in that 18-20" spot. I plant things much closer than 5'!

• jeanne_texas
    13 years ago

Lily..NO you don't want to plant them 5 feet apart..find the center of your trellis and plant them 6-8" from center on each side..are these in pots?..How big of pots?..You will want to plant them 2-4 inches deeper than the pots they are in putting the 1st leaf axil under the soil line. Remember that clematis like to have their roots stay MOIST..NOT SOGGY..but moist (that is what people mean when they said their roots need to stay "cool" very confusing so use the term moist) ..if this area will not only accomplish that but give them 6-8 hours of sun then it's the perfect spot to plant..If you have no problem with critters sprinkle a handful of bonemeal in each planting hole..remember to do the finger test daily and if the soil is drying out water...this is essential for the survival of your newly planted clematis..Jeanne

• lily2521
    Original Author
    13 years ago

The pots they're in right now aren't too big, maybe 6" in diameter.