Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kerrys_gw

Clematis not climbing trellis

kerrys
9 years ago

My 10+ year old clematis did not climb its trellis (6' wood fan) and is now a tangled heap on the ground. Of course it is full of buds.

What should I do going forward?

Comments (13)

• Michaela (Zone 5b - Iowa)
    9 years ago

How wide are the bars of the trellis? It may need more narrow things to wind around. You could always use some ties to help it start up the trellis.

• mnwsgal
    9 years ago

I use the plastic coated garden fencing, adding it to the back of wood trellis that are too thick. Works great.

• Mandyvilla
    9 years ago

Clematis newbie here, but I have been stringing vines for years with clear fishing line. I used the little wood trellis that came with the plant and weaved a fan pattern to the privacy fence behind the plant. They love the fishing line and even better, it's nearly invisible and makes the plant look like it's floating. Of course, you have to use caution for pets, kids, and adults not paying attention.

• IanW Zone 5 Ont. Can.
    9 years ago

What type of clematis do you have? Does your clematis have leaf tendrils?
    I have a Clematis âÂÂDurandiiâ which does not have tendrils and does not cling to trellises......
    This vine is used to weep over a support naturally without tangling.....

• gardenper
    9 years ago

Use the many available netting products or make your own with twine, rope, fishing line, etc

You already have the framework so just add those lines to the framework.

An alternative is that while the plant may not support itself right now, you can just tie it up to your current support. That will get it off the ground and upright. Going forward, try to support any new growth in this way also.

• mnwsgal
    9 years ago