Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomnorthjersey

Please teach me about Piilu Clematis

TomNorthJersey
11 years ago

I planted my first clematis and I'm hoping some of you would share your knowledge so I can get my Piilu from Monrovia off to a good start. I'm not an expert when it comes to plants.

I did my best to learn about clematis while trying to select a vining plant to grow up a 6' x 2' trellis. When I got to my garden center they didn't have any of the varieties that I researched except for Jackmani, which in hindsight is what I probably should have gone with. The Piilu really stood out as looking very healthy and had big blooms with a long blooming season. Unfortunately I didn't realize they only grow to 6' high. I wanted it to fill the trellis.

Planting depth. The guy at the garden center told me to plant it just above ground level, which I did. I just read that it should be planted with the crown buried to encourage more stems to grow from the base. I'd like more stems from the base. Is there anyway I can do that now without digging out the plant? Can I push back the mulch and and some more soil on top then put the mulch back??

By the way is this true for most plants? I read the same thing about fig trees some years ago.

I dug a wide, deep hole for the plant and mixed the soil with some organic potting mix. My top soil actually has a good bit of organic matter but the hole went down past my topsoil so I made sure to mix in a lot of the potting mix in at the bottom. I watered then added more soil then covered with cedar mulch.