Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jayt2

little red spiders Help!

jayt2
17 years ago

Hi, I am fairly new to Clematis and have a strange issue. I have a C. Montana Rubens which is about 3 years old and very healthy (so I thought). I bloomed like crazy on the cedar arbor I trained it on. Today I noticed that there were spider webs on a few of the vines and little red spiders everywhere.

I immediately sprayed it w/Safer but I don't know if I need something stronger or if it's too late. Anybody know how this happened and how I can get rid of them?

Many thanks!

Comments (10)

• buyorsell888
    17 years ago

spiders don't hurt plants, in fact they eat bugs that eat plants.

• chills71
    17 years ago

They are likely spider mites and they are not something you want eating your plants. The usual (non-chemical) remedy is increased humidity (spray the plants a couple times a day with the hose).

There are a number of chemical controls. For really problematic infestations a systemic can be used (though I do not know if Clematis are adversely affected by systemic pesticides).

~Chills

• buyorsell888
    17 years ago

Spider mites are not common outdoor pests in WA and OR.

Damage to the plants would be noticeable long before one would see the mites which are very very small, usually require magnification to indentify as red spider mites.

If the plant is lush and healthy it doesn't have spider mites. They cause a plant to look sickly and pale.

• sandraj1955
    16 years ago

I too have red spiders, however they are on a healty aloe vera plant, and the webs are everywhere also. What can I do to get rid of them?

• nckvilledudes
    16 years ago

If they are spiders, sevin would do the trick. However, if they are doing no harm, why bother with them?

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago