Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
audreyrama

Clematis and Raised Bed Gardens

audreyrama
11 years ago

Hi there,

I'm a relative newbie to clematis but have been reading voraciously in this forum..

Can anyone tell me what impact a raised bed will have on a clematis over the winter?

We have a 18 foot by 5 feet raised bed garden in progress, its only going to be 12 inches high ( its all stone) with the cap and is going against a fence. The stone is a foot wide all around.

Do I have to take more precautions with overwintering all he clematis I plant in it or would they be more sheltered over the winter because of the raised garden aspect?

Should I rototill the existing soil before filling her up with good soil and compost?

Thanks for any help you can give me..

Comments (7)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    11 years ago

A couple of considerations to think about before I answer your question:
    -"is going against a fence." Is the soil going to be against the fence? If so, this will probably cause problems to the fence, depending on the type of fence.
    -Is the bed 7 feet wide including the stone and there is 5 feet of soil width or 5 feet wide including the stone? If it's only 3 feet of soil, you might want to reconsider, since 3 feet is a pretty shallow bed and it will be more difficult to avoid having a single row of plants, especially since the back of the bed is against your fence which you may need to access to paint, repair, etc. I like having really deep beds since I can have more layers of plants so there is most always something blooming as well as lots of interesting foliage. I think that my shallowest bed is 6 feet deep and they are mostly much deeper. I wouldn't worry, except a stone bed is difficult to move if you want it deeper after a few seasons.