Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Clematis Wilt?

Posted by krycek1984 6a/Cleveland (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 21, 10 at 0:23

I am new to clematis! Yay!

So I planted two jackmanii (got them from wal-mart, unspecified cultivar) and I think both got bit from clematis wilt. One entire branch on both turned a crunchy brown. I cut it off asap. How do you guys treat or prevent this? Isn't it a fungus? I already spray with daconil and sulfur on an alternating pattern for my phlox, hollyhocks, pumpkins, and roses. Should I add the clematis to the rotation?

Also, I got a niobe and Avant-Garde I'm ready to plant. The avant-garde is from a local nursery so it is very large, about 3/4 feet. The tag says 8-10'. Are they vigorous? I am putting it out front and it needs to get about 10'.

Don't know anything about the niobe.

I am getting conflicting information on if these are group a, b, or c's. Silly internet.

Let me know ;0.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Clematis Wilt?

The 'Jackmanii' is a cultivar in its own right, one of the oldest of the LFH's. It is considered a pruning group III. 'Niobe' is usually considered a pruning group II but with a rebloom - so a light initial pruning and again after the first bloom flush. Or you can treat as a group III if you wish with just a slight delay of the bloom season. 'Avant Garde' is a group III - hard prune.