Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lazydaisies

Rooting Clematis Question?

I have never done this before so I have a question for you clematis experts! :)

I am rooting a section of my rooguchi clematis on a whim that fell off when I was planting it. I've never done this before but I thought it was worth a try since I would have just had to toss it anyway.

I soaked it in a glass of water for about an hour. I didn't have any rooting hormone so I wasn't sure it'd root. I plan on getting some for next time for sure. I have it in a tiny greenhouse that keeps moisture in and is in the windowsill and gets quite a bit of indirect light.

I cut off all the leaves except for the top two. I noticed that it is now growing leaves from the top and where old leaves were at the nodes.

My question are: Since it is putting off new leaves does that mean it's rooted or is it just using previously store energy?When do I remove it from all the moisture and just treat it like a normal clematis? And lastly, how should I overwinter this very young clematis assuming it really is rooted over a zone 5 winter? Is it best to plant it right before winter or keep it in a large pot? We have an unheated garage I could also put it in.

Thank you for any help!

Comments (5)

• Michaela (Zone 5b - Iowa)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oh oh one more! :) Would some fertilizer help at this stage?

• aak4
    9 years ago

I was wondering the same thing as I'm trying to grow clematis from cuttings. Sorry I don't have any advice but I'm very interested in the response from others with more gardening experience. Great questions... thanks...I'm all ears!

Original Author
    9 years ago

That's great I hope you get some answers as well! :o)

• Freda
    9 years ago

Well I would give it a little tug to see if it was rooted. I use large clear bags and would open the top of the bag first for a day or so and then if it seemed ok would take it out and grow it on, in its pot.