Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa0323_gw

Newbie with lots of questions

lisa0323
15 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to growing clematis and I have some questions. I have a nice, sturdy fence type wall for privacy near my deck in the backyard. Right now it has a HUGE trumpet vine growing on it that was planted by the previous owners. My husband and I really, really don't like the trumpet vine. It's very invasive and attracts a ton of bees. So, we've decided that we want to totally get rid of it and cover the wall with different types of clematis. Where do I start? We need to get rid of the trumpet vine - any advice on the best way to do that? Once it is gone can I buy the different clematis to plant this year or should I wait for the spring? What varieties do you recommend? I'd love to have some different ones so they bloom all throughout the spring and summer. I'm not picky about colors either. Do you have any ideas of places that I could get the plants pretty inexpensively. Also, the wall is sorta a zig-zag shape and it is about 15 feet long. How many different plants could I get to fill the area? I'd like to put them as close as I can to really cover the wall but I don't want to crowd them. Of course, expense is always an issue too. Thanks for all the advice! I really appreciate it!

Bye,

Lisa in Ohio

Comments (11)

• otnorot
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Lisa unless you can dig up the complete roots of the trumpet vine its going to take you a few years to get ride of it completly. It took me 7 years to kill mine off.
    Bill

• lisa0323
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Man! I knew it would be hard to get rid of but I didn't realize it would be that hard! Should I wait until it is completely gone to plant the clematis? Or can I get the bulk of it off the wall and as many roots out as I can and then plant the clematis? I figure I'll be pulling new trumpet vines up for quite some time.

Bye,
    Lisa in Ohio

• judith5bmontreal