Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adiro

Dumb question about new/old wood

adiro
15 years ago

I am a newbie. Sorry to ask something so dumb, but I don't understand clematis.

I just discovered I have an Elsa Spath, which is group 2. Group 2 bloom on old wood and should be pruned lightly. What exactly is " old wood" ?

The flowers on my plant are (at the very tip of the growing vines, which makes it be "the newest" wood.... I really don't understand....

I also have what's supposed to be a Sunset clematis, also group two, blooming on old wood. She didn't do an inch of growth for two month in the ground, and now it started suddenly to grow two new vines, and each has a tiny bloom at the very end of the tip.

so can somebody explain me please how is the thing with " blooming on old wood", when my clems ( type 2) seem to want to bloom on the new wood? What (age) makes the wood old?

thank you!

Comments (12)

• jeanne_texas
    15 years ago

No question is considered dumb hon..that is the only way we can learn is to ask questions. When you read the term "Old Wood"..it means the vines of that clematis that were produced from Previous years...such as your Pruning group 2's .."New Wood" means the vines that are grown during a growing season..those are your Pruning group 3's and those must be hard pruned because you want the new vines to grow for they produce the blooms...if you didn't hard prune...you'd only have blooms wayyyy up high where the new vines will start growing from the old ones..Hope this helps...ps..One+ years old is what constitutes old wood

• adiro
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you for your answer! Sorry, my English is sometimes a little tangled, as it is not my first language.