Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Jackmanii in poorly drained soil

Posted by charisbograd 6 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 23, 13 at 15:33

I am a novice gardener. I planted a young Jackmanii clematis at the end of April. It gets a lot of sunlight and I have watered it religiously. However, it has only grown about 6" up the trellis (it was about 2' high when I purchased it and had no blooms yet) and only one sad flower has appeared. After learning more about the plant, and my soil, I fear that the soil it is in stays wet and is poorly drained. I have been thinking about raising the bed it is in and adding about a foot of good soil. If I dig up the clematis and replant it in the 1' of good soil, will this help it? Does this sound like a reasonable plan? Is the poorly draining soil the likely culprit for why this isn't growing or flowering?
Thank you for any advice.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Jackmanii in poorly drained soil

Charis,
How do you know that the soil is poorly draining?
When you water it does the water go down within a half hour? Or does it puddle and stay wet and not go down into the ground?
Time it.
Clematis doesn't need to watered religiously. How often are you watering it?
A couple times a week for a newly planted one is fine.
Especailly since it is hot.
If your soil puddles and the water just sits there after you water the plant, you must find a place that has better drainage. You could improve drainage, but its a lot of work and the clematis roots are going to be really large, huge, so I'm afraid just a foot of soil isn't nearly enough. Besides, if you have orange clay type soil, you will have a bowl effect and the water will still damage the plant.
Find another spot for it.

o
RE: Jackmanii in poorly drained soil