Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skfrey25

Where to find a nice trellis

skfrey25
11 years ago

I am in the process of selecting the clematis varieties I would like to grow. I am certain that I will have a Venosa Violacea. This is my first attempt at growing clematis. Where can I find a suitable trellis, and how tall does it need to be?

Thank you!

Sarah

Comments (6)

• greenhavenrdgarden
    11 years ago

I had a hard time finding a perfect trellis. It would help if we knew where it was going? Up against your house? A fence? In the garden bed?
    The most important thing is that it is thin enough for the plant to wrap around it.
    I bought quite a few after looking everywhere. I bought trellis, arches, rose pillars. I can show you a link to what I bought of you'd like. Very solid steel arches, trellis, and pillars but yet still thin so the plant can wrap. My shutters are black so it was easy to match with all black products.
    Also, clematis can be addicting. I bought my first last year and now have around 60 of them ;)

• skfrey25
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for your response! My trellis will most likely be next to my house, although in the future, I will probably need one to go in a garden bed. If you get a chance, it would be so helpful if you cold post that link!

I may be new to clematis, but I have quickly learned how addicting they can be! I am limiting myself to four this year, but there are so many varieties that I would love to grow!

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    11 years ago

I haven't checked recently, but in the past I got some nice trellises through Jackson and Perkins (online) and at my local Home Depot store. I think they were about 6 ft tall--or maybe a bit taller. I also got some nice pillars at Jackson and Perkins--about 8 ft tall. Clems look lovely growing around them in a garden setting.