Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terri761

For Zone 5'ers

terri76
14 years ago

I have just planted a bunch of type 2 clematis and have been reading about how they need to be cut back each year before the next season. I live in zone 5 (NW Indiana) and want to know what months are best. Do you actually cut when there is snow still on the ground? (I'm a rookie.) Thanks

Comments (6)

• kentstar
    14 years ago

As far as I know, you cut them back in early spring, when the forsythia's bloom. I'm still pretty new at this too. I've planted 4 group 2's this year and cut them back. I planted 3 of the same last year, and cut back. The ones that I cut back last year came back beautifully and more vigorous this year! What I still also need to know is, do you only do this the first 3 years and then stop cutting back so much? I think after the first 3 years, you only cut back the deadwood in the spring.

• buyorsell888
    14 years ago

Kentstar, you are correct. You don't need to cut Type II's back every year, just the first few to get them off to a good start.

However, if they become a tangled or scraggly mess that only blooms on top you can cut them back to rejuvenate them even if they are mature.

• janetpetiole
    14 years ago

Extremely cold temps and will probably kill the tops of the vines, so you'll have to prune them.

• kentstar
    14 years ago

I accidentally wacked off most of my Crystal Fountain type 2 last year. It was planted in spring last year, and I was trying out a new weeding tool and wacked off all but a 6 inch stub! That was later on the summer, mid to late summer I believe. There was not even a single leaf left! I just kept treating it like it was still fine, and watered like usual. Well, this year it not only came back, but it is doing better than all the rest of my clems! Vigorous, leafy, and much fuller! So, I guess it liked it!

• WendyB 5A/MA
    14 years ago