Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lurleene_gw

Growing clematis *down*? And other questions

lurleene
15 years ago

Our backyard has a large sloped area that has been covered with granite for drainage/erosion prevention purposes. The rock is lovely but needs some foliage. Clematis was suggested.

There is suitable planting space both above and below the slope. Should I plant at the top and train the clematis down? Should I plant both top and bottom?

Also, how many varieties should I plant? I assume (I'm totally new to gardening entirely) I should focus on flowering time so that I have something flowering in spring, midsummer, and late summer too. The area is almost 50 feet wide and 8 or 10 feet tall, so I have a lot of space to work with. Should I go crazy and plant a different variety for each planting? Or should I be more conservative and select maybe 3 varieties and space them out accordingly?

Comments (6)

• flowerfan2
    15 years ago

I am having trouble picturing what this is. Is this a retaining wall? Is it smooth like a granite slab? Is it vertical or a gentle slope with granite boulders? If it is a slope is there exposed soil throughout the hillside? Can you walk down it? Does water pool at the bottom? Is your house at the top or the bottom of the slope/retaining wall. Where will the view be? What kind of sun exposure does it have? Will this be an area that you can get a hose to for watering?

• alina_1
    15 years ago

I agree with Flowerfan, the picture would help greatly. Can you post a picture of this sloped area?

• rjlinva
    15 years ago

Whatever the situation, most of the clematis that I grow (not all, but most) tend to languish if they don't have something on which to twine their leaves/stems from a very early age. I can't imagine most clematis would "drape" down a wall or a slope unless they had first got going significantly by twining upward first.

I'm ready for all the more knowledgeable people on here to correct me...go ahead.

Robert