Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Got an amazing deal on clematis!

Posted by lilyfinch 6a (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 31, 09 at 14:42

I have a chainlink fence that was in need of some beautiful clematis, and today i stopped at a nursery ive never been too, and got 5 for 2 dollars each!!!! After doing my happy dance (thankfully noone was around!) i selected :
Ernest Markham- a magenta
Carnaval
Multi Blue
Blue Angel
Comtesse de bouchard

the rest they had didnt look fabulous, and since im new at these i wasnt too confident in the very scraggly ones.

So any advice for me? Can i miracle grow these in a couple days after they get settled in the ground? How should i baby them? Im so excited! I still need to select a long blloming one for my arbor, ive been checking them out online, thank you for all your suggestions on my other thread!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Got an amazing deal on clematis!

You are so lucky! Nothing thrills more than a bargain for the garden. You made me think, there is a small nursery I pass on the way to work, I will need to stop there tomorrow to see if they have any Clems on sale.
Tina

o

Hi Lilyfinch,
Congrats on your bargain! I too love a bargain and there is *nothing* better than finding one for a plant, who needs love and then thrives once they get it. I love to baby them!

Anyway, about your questions...

I am not an expert however, I was in the same boat last year and looked on this forum and got some great help from people.

This is what I would tell you about planting clematis:

1. Dig the hole deep and wide. Probably about 2 feet each way. Save the soil you take out of the ground.

2. add compost (they sell bags of it at Lowes and Home Depot for about $3.00)If you can get the real thing even better - make sure it is aged. Otherwise it will burn your new baby clem.

3. I also add a heaping cup of Rose Tone (this is rose food, but any good fertilizer will do. Clematis are heavy feeders, like roses)