Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pmermakov

How hardy are florida Sieboldii and montana Mayleen?

pmermakov
13 years ago

Hi, I'm just getting into (or maybe over my head!) clematis this summer. I bought florida Sieboldii and montana Mayleen. Both are doing well, but recently I got the Enchylopedia of Clematis from the library, which says those types are only hardy to zone 7. I live in zone 5/6, so I wondering if I should dig them up and give them to my friend who lives further south. Thanks in advanace for any advise.

Comments (9)

• kitkat_oregon
    13 years ago

Florida Sieboldii is notorious for not being hardy in your zone, unfortunately. She gives folks grief in zones warmer than yours too. Sorry to give you bad news so early into your venture with clems, but there are many, many, to choose from that will thrive in your garden. You might have better luck with the Montana, especially if she is sheltered but you never can tell until you try. Good luck. Kat

• pmermakov
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Kate for your help. I decided to go ahead a give away montana Mayleen after someone wrote it will live through the winter, but will not bloom because the vines will die back to the roots. I already potted it up and will give it to my friend who is coming up from Charlotte next week. There are so many choices with clematis. I plan to replace it will Maria Cornelia and Trikatrei, both small flowered type 3 clems.

I was wondering if I could pot up Florida Sieboldii and keep it in my house over the winter? Another possibility would be to keep in in the garage. How much light do they need? I am afaid if I kept it in the house it would get lots of bugs. Or should I just go ahead and give it to my friend from the south? Any thoughts are welcomed.
    Thanks!

• mnwsgal
    13 years ago

Clematis don't do well as houseplants.