Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eko42

Which clematis for climbing roses?

eko42
17 years ago

Hello,

I am new to clematis and was thrilled to see a clematis board on GW. I live in Southern California zone 9 and I wish to grow clematis with my climbing roses. I have read that Type 2 is the type to pair with climbing roses.(?) I am looking for large flowered varieties that have the longest blooming period. We have such a long growing season here! Any colors will work with the exception of white. I already have lots of the color white represented in my landscape from 7 iceberg roses.

The climbing roses I have areÂ

Abraham Darby CL. and The Impressionist  together on an iron structure

Heritage CL. and Red Eden CL. Â together on a structure

Tess of the dÂUrbervilles CL. Â on a pillar

Social Climber  on a pillar

Don Juan CL. Â attached to a white stucco wall

Any and all suggestions/advice will be greatly appreciated.

Erin---

Comments (16)

• buyorsell888
    17 years ago

Jeanne, how does your Violet Elizabeth do? I'm not impressed. Mine is three years old and has had one greenish pale bloom.

• jeanne_texas
    17 years ago

BoS...Mine hasn't done Squat either..but mine was just planted this past Spring..but I love the pics of the blooms and want it to flourish in my gardens SO BADLY!!..Some Pruning group 2s are a pain in the you know what IMHO!!..And that must be one of them...did you hard prune it?..I do all of mine!!..at least their first prune season...that one might need it more than once????...Some children need a spanking more than once in my book..LOL...Jeanne

• eko42
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Hi Jeanne - Thank you for all the great suggestions and for pointing me toward the search engine on COTW. Lots of useful information on that site!

I also wrote to Chalk Hill asking for help and the following are the suggestions that their manager Murray Rosen gave me...

Ascotiensis
    Prince Charles
    Emilia Plater
    Dominika
    Perrins Pride