Return to the Clematis Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Training Nelly Moser up tree trunk

Posted by daysquid 7 Annapolis, MD (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 13, 12 at 10:28

I'm new to gardening and need some advice on just how to train a Nelly Moser to climb a tree trunk. I just brought her home and failed to ask the nursery any questions about how to do this. Thanks in advance for any and all help on this!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Training Nelly Moser up tree trunk

BuyorSell (I think) in the past posted a photo of a clem growing up a spiral of copper plumbing pipe around the trunk of a tree so that the clem followed the loose spiral around the trunk. You could also hang strings or netting from the tree if the lower branches are large enough to support the weight of the clematis.

It will also depend somewhat on the kind of tree. Since clematis aren't fond of root competition, certain trees with shallow thirsty roots will stunt the growth of the clematis unless the clem is planted in a pot (and maple roots will grow up into the pot through the drain holes of a pot sitting on the soil surface!)

o

My copper spiral doesn't actually work very well. You need something like metal grid fencing wrapped around the trunk or part of it.

or something like this trellis

Here is a link that might be useful: trellis at Amazon

o

Do you remove the plant from the trellis in the pot and then feed the vine up your own trellis...to start its climb? I realize that this might be a silly question but this is all new to me as a first time gardner.

o

• Posted by alameda 8 - East Texas (My Page) on
    Sat, Sep 29, 12 at 12:52

Rather than buy expensive tree trellis, I use leftover scraps of my horse wire fencing - any kind will do - to wrap around a tree for the clematis to climb on. Once they cover the wire, you never even know its there. You can buy rolls of all kinds of hardware cloth, etc. at Lowes. I would think plastic netting would work also.

o