Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bwca4

Can Clematis be used in a cascading form?

bwca4
16 years ago

I'm new to Clematis and I'm trying to soften a 6-7' tall retaining wall and it has to be done with cascading plants. I've gotten the idea that Clematis could be used (from snippets that I've read), if I don't give it a structure to climb on. Will this work? I'm looking at using C. 'Pink Fantasy'.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (10)

• flowerfan2
    16 years ago

Yes you can grow clematis to cascade over a retaining wall. Clematis that bloom on new wood would be nice as you can cut the dead foliage back in the fall so your retaining wall looks neat and tidy all winter. Pink Fantasy is a type 3 clematis which blooms on new wood. I have never grown this variety but the pictures look nice.

• nckvilledudes
    16 years ago

Sure I see no issues with doing so. If the vines reach the bottom of the wall, you could always loop them back up to the top. You could also fashion a support that would allow you to make swags out of the vines as they develop.

• agrowingpassion
    16 years ago

I don't know your exact situation but I use chicken wire to give clem a base for climbing. Sounds tacky but the plant will cover the wire the first year and chicken wire can go anywhere. Run it down the length of the wall (if its a low wall) or down the wall itself(if it is a tall wall). Also great to put rings of wire around a post or pole. You should be able to find a method of attaching the wire to the wall. (HD has plastic ties that attach to walls without nailing into the wall) Once the plant starts to take hold of the wire, it will help keep it in place. Just wrap it over the top of the wall if you have to. Easy and cheap and really works.

• nckvilledudes
    16 years ago