Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
violetta1976

holes on leaves and petals

violetta1976
16 years ago

Just noticed that the two Asao I just brought home have little holes on their leaves and petals. Forgive me if this is a given, but this is my first year with outdoor plants - is the little caterpillar on my finger in the pic below likely to blame? What can I do about it? I saw him on my petunias in a window box right next to the clematis. Thus far I don't see any damage on any of my other plants, but it'd be lovely to keep it that way. And, of course, minimize further damage to my new clematis.

{{gwi:623184}}
{{gwi:623186}}
{{gwi:623188}}
{{gwi:623190}}

Comments (11)

• buyorsell888
    16 years ago

I have severe problems with earwigs chewing holes in my Clematis. Likely that is what is getting yours too. It is very annoying.

• nckvilledudes
    16 years ago

Although earwigs are very common in relatively close proximiity to the ground, I am not sure if that is the issue in your case Violetta since you garden on a deck that is up off the ground. Kind of hard to determine the root cause of your issue. It could be the catepillars and earwigs could climb up the house and onto the deck. You could lay some traps to see what you might catch on the deck to help narrow down the possibilities.

• buyorsell888
    16 years ago

DH took down an old wooden bird feeder yesterday that was up on the side of the shed. It was full of earwigs. Those suckers can climb.

May have ridden in from the nursery too since the Asao's were bought locally, recently.

Try lifting up some of your pots during the day, they like to hide underneath.

• pacnwgrdngirl
    16 years ago