Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annabro

a clematis in a pot

lucyfretwell
12 years ago

I have a Clematis ( maybe a Jackmanii) that I have been nursing along in a pot for a couple of years now as a precursor to planting it out when it gains strength .

As the Summer heat and light is now gone I am wondering what to do with it over the Winter.

I know there are some plants (Geraniums?) where it is permissable to allow them to more or less dry out over the Winter-I don't suppose that might also apply to Clematises?

Otherwise I imagine it would me a case of keeping the soil in the pot barely damp until the Spring.

(I don't want to plant it out just yet until I feel confident that it will produce new shoots from somewhere very close to the base -and it is still a little to leggy for my liking)

Comments (3)

• sandyl
    12 years ago