Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

Which clematis for pergola?

v1rt
13 years ago

Hi everyone, it's my first time to post on this forum. I recently build a 20x10 pergola. Next spring, a friend of mine will give me a clematis but I forgot to ask which variety.

Are there clematis that can fill the pergola similar to the one I built? How many years before it can fill it in?

Here is the patio/pergola I recently completed.

{{gwi:432047}}

Comments (22)

• v1rt
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Anyone please? I see other threads getting answered, hehehe :P I'll wait and also no rush. Thanks in advance!

• Julia WV (6b)
    13 years ago

I recently asked the same question and got alot of great advice. I started out looking for a blue and a white but after all the great suggestions, I think I will mix in a few more. There is also a comment in the thread about needing something for the clematis to climb on. Great tips from the folks here on the forum.

Here is a link which might help.

Julia

Here is a link that might be useful: Clematis for Pergola

• v1rt
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks so much Julia! :)

• v1rt
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I'm going to look at Huldine, Betty Corning and Polish Spirit and good vigorous Clems as is Venosa Violacea. I remember a GW user named woodyoak told me about Betty Corning in Vines forum. I'll call the nursery again today and ask if they have this. They're selling each for $5. Is that a good deal?

• bob414
    13 years ago

Depends on the size of the container. If they have a good root system it's a good deal even in a smaller container. If it's gallon size and you can see roots through the drainage holes it's a very good deal.

• opheliathornvt zone 5
    13 years ago