Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
filix_gw

Where should I keep my clematis cuttings

filix
17 years ago

I took 20 sweet autumn clem cuttings in novenber. I dipped them in rooting powder and potted them in a sandy soil mix. Then after watering them, I put them in plastic bags. They have been in my unheated garage. But its starting to get cold out there. Should I bring them down my cellar? Do they need light? Or is darkness good until rooted? This is my first time trying this. Thanks..Filix

Comments (8)

• filix
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Where is everybody?

• bob414
    17 years ago

Not much traffic on this site lately filix. I've seen your question several times but am unable to help. I've never tried to sprout clematis and although I get a few hard frosts I don't have to worry about the cold harming my plants so I don't have any basis for giving you an answer.

• FrozeBudd_z3/4
    17 years ago

filix, I have my November planted cuttings sitting in a cool solarium, where prolonged temperatures of 40f are experienced ... though, they receive a good amount of natural light, I think they'd also be okay in darkness ... it's more so the temperature that's important, and that should be 40 to 50 f. I do not tent my cuttings, as have found that mould and rot can be a problem, I'm also very careful about never overwatering them!

Terry

• filix
    Original Author
    17 years ago