Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ohiofem

How to start clivia seeds

I'm no expert on clivias, but I have been growing them since 2004, and have learned a technique for growing them from seed that seems to work very well. I'd like to share it here and invite others to share their methods or comment on mine.

If the seeds are more than a week or two old, clean them with water and mild dish detergent and then rinse well. Soak them over night in clean water mixed 4 to 1 with hydrogen peroxide. (If the seeds are very fresh, you can skip this first step.)

Prepare about a cup of long fiber sphagnum moss by soaking it in warm water and then squeezing dry. (New Zealand moss is best.) Add the moss to a small ZipLoc bag along with the seeds. You want the moss moist like a squeezed out sponge with no extra water in the bag. Close the baggie and place in a warm place (75-85 degrees F) in a light, but not sunny, location where you won't forget to look at it regularly. Open the bag to smell the moss and dampen if necessary every two or three days. It should smell fresh, not moldy. If you see any sign of fungi or algae growing inside the baggie, remove the seeds, wash them with dilute hydrogen peroxide or mild liquid soap and plant them in an open container.

The seeds take anywhere from two to six weeks to sprout. The first thing you will see is the root pushing out from a little dimpled area on the seed. This is called the radicle. This will slowly get longer and eventually, the first bit of green will let you know the first leaf is going to form. This is when I remove the seed from the baggie and put it into potting mix. If the little radicle gets to be more than 1/2 inch long without any green showing, you can move it at that time as well.