Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schifferle

New to Clivias: potting soil question

schifferle
14 years ago

What are recommendations for a growing medium for my Clivia? I've read that the bags of regular potting soil are a no no and an airier mix is needed so the roots don't rot. (Also that they need to be pot bound in order to bloom.) There are specialized bagged mixes for African Violets and for Orchids, but not for Clivias.

Comments (8)

• consentida
    14 years ago

I'll be watching this thread! Can the experts please let us know?
    schifferle, I'm in the same situation as you. I'm new to clivias and I'm germinating some seeds. The next step is to plant them in soil!!

• meyermike_1micha
    14 years ago

Let's see....

Depending on your area and watering habits, Clivia will just about grow in anything! They are prone to rot easily if soil is kept wet too long...

Up here in Mass, where my winters are long and some summers can be very wet, I plant mine in a soiless mix with NO , I mean NO peatmoss what so ever...
    I use the gritty mix talked about on the container forums and I can water all I want, and never a worry!
    It has been raining for 3 days at temps in the 40's and they are still thriving under my trees. I like the security of knowing the roots are safe...

I know some around my area that grow them in just pine bark and sand. This too can work.
    There's do just as well as mine.
    I know some that plant them in straight turface.
    I know some that plant them in just leaf mold, while others in pure coconut fibers such as I have done..

The point is, they will grow in anything that is fast draining and allows the root to breathe. Any small particle stuff such as peat,fine sand,powders of certain organic fertilizers,media that contains particle matter smaller than a pea size, will almost certainly collapse over time a suffocate your roots causing rot.