Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poutchi_gw

Newbie... Need help with Clivia

Poutchi
11 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie on this forum... I have a clivia that was donated to me last year ( around May 2011). At the time, the owner told me it was about 2 years old. It now has 20 leaves and does look good... However I am getting worried since it has not bloomed this winter plus it has stopped growing since february this year... Am I doing something wrong? should I repot it?

I also have an orchid that i have had for 4 years... leaves are always growing but it has never bloomed ... So maybe there is something I am doing wrong with my plants.. The amarylis i have does bloom ( even though it bloomed in july this year) but my main concern right now is the clivia... I love this plant a lot and I am scared it is not well...

Thanks for any help

Comments (13)

• otnorot
    11 years ago

Five years ago I was given a Clivia I now have 4 and have given three others away and they all came from the first plant.Did you put your plant outside for the summer?It should have been put out in semi shade.Best that you repot and fertilize lightly during the winter.Mine had bloomed every winter for five years and last fall (Oct) it bloomed and I was disappointed but it bloomed again in Dec then again in March,here's a picture

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    11 years ago

It is unusual for clivias to bloom before they have 12-16 leaves and are at least three years old. The usual advice is to feed well from spring to early fall and then give them 6-8 weeks of temperatures between 40-50 F with no water in the fall. Some people believe they won't bloom in the year after repotting, but I've not had that problem. Otonorot's plant is unusually vigorous.

• Poutchi
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks very much for the answers...