Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
naomimilstein

Looking for funding for community garden

Naomi Milstein
22 years ago

Hi,

I'm a student at the University of Michigan who is involved in a community gardens project in downtown Detroit. I'm looking for funding/grants available to buy materials for the garden. Also, there is a plot of land next to the garden site that is for sale. We're currnetly searching for money to help purchase this land so we can expand the community garden and transform the building on the property into a resource center. Does anyone have thoughts about funding opportunities available or where I should look? Does anyone have any fundraising ideas?

Thanks!

Naomi

Comments (3)

• Carrie B
    22 years ago

Before trying to find money, make sure you've got a really clear plan. Exactly what is it you want to do? What do you want to do first? How much money will you need? If you only get some of the money, what will you do with it? Who will maintain the property/land when you graduate and move away? How will the garden benefit the City/community/uiversity/students/the poor etc.? How will taxes be paid following the initial purchase of the land? etc.

As far as getting some start-up materials goes, a good place to start is sometimes places like Home Depot. Get a short letter/proposal together once you've got the land, and if it doesn't rub you the wrong way, offer to put a sign up at the garden with "this city gardening project made possible by the generosity of Home Depot" or something like that.

You didn't mention if the community garden you are involved with has a 501C3 or is registered with the State as a not for profit. Any documentation will be VERY helpful, and absolutely neccessary in most cases if you are seeking foundation or corporate funding. 501C3 is also probably required by Home Depot, Walmart, or any big retailer who might consider donating supplies.