Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carriebor

revitalize this forum?

Carrie B
21 years ago

Hi,

After a few months on a waiting list, I finally got word that I'm getting a community plot! Very exciting.

I've checked this forum occasionally for the past 6 months or so, and it's pretty quiet. Since I'll be brand new to community gardening (though I've been gardening at home for a few years), I'd like to see this forum get more active, soooo...

questions:

1. What's the best way to meet people while community gardening? Do you ask gardening questions while people are working their plots? Go to meetings? Volunteer?

2. How helpful do you find gardeners to be when it comes to gardening advice? What are some tips for eliciting information?

3. Are there any unwritten "rules of etiquette" for new community gardeners?

Thanks,

Carrie

Comments (17)

• burntgrass
    21 years ago

hi Carrie,
    I usually hang out, these days, at Winter Sowing, New Gardeners, Seed Saving, Growing from Seed, Companion Planting and Composting - to name a few.

Gardeners LOVE to talk about their gardens, and
    share their plants. May I recommend that you check out some of the other forums for gardening advice - there is a ton of it!

I don't have a community garden, but a nice backyard I am putting beds in - some community gardens have a general building where the community garden sells discount items, some don't.

Just start by saying hello and ask them if it is there first time gardening, ask about their planting,

ask them how they find the soil in your community garden.

It won't be long before you will be comparing growing notes and generally enjoying the whole experience.
    I just started to check out more gardening forums out of curiosity and because it is too wet today, in Scotland, to do much else at this moment. (there is always housework!)

Cheers,
    McPeg

• Carrie B
    Original Author
    21 years ago

Thanks McPeg,