Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carriebor

innovative fundraising?

Carrie B
22 years ago

Hi all,

I've joined the fundraising committee for the community garden. I raise money for a living, but for a very different type of organization.

The garden is quite established (25 years old, city-owned & preserved property, and 50-100 gardeners). Next month, we are doing a flea market/plant sale as a fundraiser.

I'd like any input on fundraisers and methods that have worked for other community gardening fund seekers.

Thanks, Carrie

Comments (2)

• laura_w_zone6
    21 years ago

Carrie-

I am also involved in a Community Garden in Philadelphia. One good fundraiser that we did last year is selling bulbs for the fall. Dutch Bulbs (http://www.dutchbulbs.com/) has a fundraiser for this that is great. If you go to the link, you will see a tab for Fundraising at the top. They send you all of the required materials. It works sort of like girl scout cookies - people can bring the flyers into work and people sign up for the bulbs which will be shipped at planting time. You could even bring the flyers to your flea market. The best part is that FIFTY PERCENT of the price of the bulbs is profit for the garden. Another nice thing is that they have bonuses for how much you sell total, so you can use these bonus bulbs to plant in the community garden.

Good luck!

-Laura

• Nelz
    21 years ago

Fedco seeds has a fundraiser plan for selling seeds. They call it a seed store. Go to their website and get the address and send a request a catalog. The catalog is excellent, the prices are about the best I've found, and the quality has been superior. I found them 4 years ago, and they are my main seed source.

Anyway back to fundraising.

2 ways they do it: